Posted in Readathons

Summer Biannual Bibliothon 2017 Wrap-Up

This past week, I took part in the Summer Biannual Bibliothon and it was my first time taking part in a readathon ever. I thought it was quite fun and I’m happy to say that I managed to complete my TBR and all the reading challenges that I set out to do. I wanted to take part in the blog challenges too but unfortunately, I gave up after Day 2 cause I was too lazy. Oh well, I’m not gonna beat myself up about it. Today, I bring you my wrap-up of all the books I read during the Summer Bibib!

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

This is the first book that I read and it was for the challenges ‘Read an LGBT+ book’ and ‘Read a banned book’. I finished this book in the first two days of the readathon and rated it 4 stars. I thought it was alright but to be honest, I was a little bit bored while I was reading it. I’m not really a huge fan of books that follow someone’s life and that don’t really have a plot so I think this was just a personal preference. I can understand that this book is an important one for black literature but it just didn’t affect me personally unfortunately. My favorite part of the book though was the writing. The author wrote in ‘bad English’, like someone who is illiterate might write and instead of hindering my enjoyment of the book, it actually enhanced it. I thought it made the story sound a lot more genuine and it really gave the main character a unique voice. I was also pleasantly surprised by the fact that although it is written in bad English, the writing still flows smoothly and you can still read the story at a steady pace. Definitely a nice touch.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

This book was a reread for me and fulfilled the challenges of ‘Read and watch a book to movie adaptation’ and ‘Read a book you heard about from somewhere other than Booktube’. I finished this book during Days 3 and 4 of the readathon and rated it 4 stars the first time I read it (I’m not one to change my ratings after a reread). It’s a story with a similar message as Thirteen Reasons Why, which is that any of your actions, no matter how small, can have a huge impact somewhere along the line. I appreciated the message of the story and the way it was told but I must say, it’s difficult to like the protagonist and her friends. It’s definitely intentional though because while she’s a popular mean girl at the beginning of the book, she develops and grows and becomes somewhat redeemable by the end of the book. I do take issue with the ending though because it feels like Lauren Oliver missed a real chance at driving the message home by letting what happened to the main character happen. If the story ended in a different way and the main character had to suffer through the consequences of her choices and decisions, I think it would have made a more impactful ending. I think that’s the thing with Lauren Oliver’s writing in general. I enjoy it and I enjoy her stories, but somehow, she can never really pull off what she intends to and leaves us hanging with a mediocre ending.

I also watched the movie adaptation for this book and it was just alright. It was pretty loyal to the books, although it did cut out quite a bit (but I don’t mind the bits that were cut out), but it didn’t really bring anything new to the table either. I prefer the book though because it has just a little bit more to make the story slightly more interesting.

Unsouled by Neal Shusterman

This was far and away my favorite read of the whole readathon, but it’s no surprise since this is part of my favorite series of all time. This was another reread and it took me the last 3 days of the Summer Bibib. This book fulfilled the Throwback challenge of ‘A book over 300 pages’ and the challenge of ‘Read a book from one of the hosts’ favorite genre’. I rated it 4 stars the last time I read it, making it my least favorite book in the Unwind dystology, but that’s not saying much because this book was still freaking amazing. I won’t elaborate much on it now because I’m going to do a series review on the Unwind dystology once I get around to the last book, which will probably be this week so you can expect the review next week! Super excited for it!

So that wraps up the Summer Bibib! It was an interesting experience although tbh, 3 books in a week wasn’t all that challenging for me. Since it was my first readathon I thought I’d take it easy but now I know what I’m capable of, I might just push myself harder in upcoming readathons. Till then!

Cheers and happy reading!

3 thoughts on “Summer Biannual Bibliothon 2017 Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

