Posted in Readathons

Summer Biannual Bibliothon 2017 TBR

I’ve decided to take part in a readathon this summer because it seems like I’ll have some time on my hands. The Summer Biannual Bibliothon will take place from July 23rd to July 29th and today, I bring you the books I plan to read for this readathon. There are 7 challenges to complete which are:

  1. Read the Group Book (Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh)
  2. Read from one of the hosts’ favorite genre
  3. Read a book that has been or still is banned
  4. Complete a challenge from a past Bibliothon
  5. Read and watch a book to movie adaptation
  6. Read a book you’ve seen somewhere other than Booktube
  7. Read an LGBTQIA+ book

I’m going to try to complete all the challenges (except for the first one) with the three books on my TBR. I decided to forego the first challenge because my library doesn’t have Flame in the Mist and I couldn’t really be bothered to buy it just to complete all the challenges in this readathon. As for the other 6 challenges, I’m going to try and complete them all with the following three books:

  1. The Color Purple by Alice Walker

This book will complete the two challenges of reading a banned book and reading an LGBTQIA+ book. I don’t really know much about it except that it’s about women of color and it explores issues of sexuality as well as race. It’s apparently on the list of 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books of 2000-2009 so it definitely fits the banned book challenge.

2. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

This one will complete the challenges of a book to movie adaptation and a book that I’ve seen somewhere other than Booktube. This will actually be a reread for me because I read this book a few years ago after a Buzzfeed article recommended it to me. So not Booktube. I meant to watch the movie this year but I never got around to it so I figure this challenge would be a great excuse for me to do that.

3. Unsouled by Neal Shusterman

I’m currently in the middle of rereading the Unwind dystology by Neal Shusterman and I know that during the week of the Summer Bibib, I’ll be up to this book so I had to include this in somehow. Luckily, it fits two challenges: one of the hosts’ favorite genres and completing a past challenge. Kellys Bookspill’s favorite genre is Dystopian/SciFi and the Unwind series definitely falls under both genres. As for completing a past challenge, I went with “A book over 300 pages” and Unsouled has 404 pages.

So that’s my TBR for the Summer Bibib. I’m pretty excited because this will be my first ever readathon and I wonder how I’ll do! There are also blog challenges which I thought was really cool since readathons are usually confined to Booktube. I’m gonna try to complete the blog challenges too if I have time. Hope I have a successful readathon!

Cheers and happy reading!

5 thoughts on “Summer Biannual Bibliothon 2017 TBR

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you’re participating. It’s definitely smart to double up on challenges; I thought about doing that but I ended up just coming up with a book for each challenge, and if I don’t complete them all, no big deal!
    I’m really excited about the blog challenges too; so far it seems like they’ve been kind of hectic so I hope that it all comes together and enough people participate! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

